Billy Elliot

screenshot-2_23_2013-2_35_15-pm

Billy Elliot has always been at the top of my bucket list of films to watch. Let me tell you, it did not disappoint. For many years all I have heard about this film were good things. So because of that, before the opening titles were even finished, I already had my standards set pretty high. In the beginning I wasn’t too sure about how I felt about it yet. I was still iffy on whether or not I liked it. However, as soon as Billy decided to join in on the ballet classes instead of boxing I knew that this was when it really started to get good. I have always been a really big Jamie Bell fan despite him never being in any major roles, so when I noticed that he was the main star of this film I was both excited and curious to see why. Apparently Jamie Bell grew up in a household of dancers and started imitating dance moves outside his sisters dance practices before being asked to join in. His own story practically imitates that of Billy Elliot’s in that they both started dancing in secret. That is one of the aspects that I love about this film. So often in real life people start off doing what they love in secret before their family finally becomes accepting of it. One of my favorite scenes in the film is while Billy’s dad, brother Tony, and Mrs. Wilkinson all fight about whether or not he should be allowed to continue ballet, Billy starts dancing his frustrations out through the streets and along rooftops, passionately tapping his feet along the way. He doesn’t even realize exactly what it is that he’s doing, all he’s thinking about is finding some way or other to vent these emotions. Billy Elliot truly is an outstanding film and I am more than happy to finally check it off of my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

